In a monthly contract or a lease agreement at will, the lessor must indicate 30 days in advance or the total rental period, whichever is longer, for any infringement except for non-payment of rent. The Massachusetts monthly lease, “lease by agreement,” is a lease between a lessor and a tenant that does not have a specific end date. The contract is renewed with each of the tenant`s monthly payments. Even if the contract is renewed only by the tenant`s payments, both parties must inform the other person in writing before terminating the lease agreement. If the tenant interrupts their lease, the landlord must go through the same eviction process as a standard tenancy agreement. It is recommended. For any lease or rental agreement, a lessor must follow the termination and/or eviction procedures before forcing a tenant out of the house. Retaliatory eviction refers to cases where a landlord forces or attempts to coerce a tenant by changing locks, cutting off services, or taking property from the tenant without obtaining the proper court order. A lease does not last a certain period of time and does not end on a specific date, as a lease does. In the case of a rental agreement, the tenant pays the agreed rent monthly for an indefinite period.
Either the landlord or the tenant can decide to end the tenancy by sending the other party either 30 days or one month before the expiry date of the next lease, whichever is longer. For this type of contract, the rent can vary within the same 30 days or a month before the end of the rental. In general, a lessor cannot take possession of the rental property, physically remove the tenant or his personal property or change the locks without going through a court. Depending on the reason for the evacuation, a lessor must give the tenant either 14 days` notice or 30 days` notice. A lessor must then bring a civil action (summary proceedings) before the court and receive a judgment from the court setting the date on which the tenant must leave the rented property with his belongings. If the tenant does not voluntarily surrender on the date indicated by the court, a landlord must have a sheriff or constable send the tenant an enforced judgment telling him to leave the tenant and, if necessary, transfer the tenant`s personal property to a licensed public warehouse. In this case, the lessor is required to pay moving expenses, but is entitled to reimbursement by the tenant. The tenant has the unique possibility to claim objects of personal or sentimental value from the storage facility and may claim all personal belongings of the storage facility after paying all fees collected by the storage facility.
Whether it is a rental agreement or a rental agreement according to the beatitude, the tenant must pay the rent, respect the rules agreed with the owner and assume responsibility for damage to the apartment, which is more than “normal wear and tear”. The landlord must provide a secure, clean, Massachusetts Health Code-compliant apartment, and must keep all promises made in the rental agreement or lease. If the building was constructed before 1978, landlords and tenants must sign and keep a copy of the Chief Law Note and the applicable certification. These forms are intended to inform the tenant of the known risks and causes of lead poisoning and to reveal whether it is known that lead-based paint is present in the rental unit. . . .